My musings…

Wasn’t able to post yesterday because I didn’t take the train. I picked up our CSA on Thursday. We ended up with collards, spinach, kohlrabi, carrots, Swiss chard, and pea shoots. I also picked up 2 green peppers.

Friday boys:
Sister in law fed the boys

Friday me:
B: oatmeal with a banana, peanut butter and cinnamon
L: taco salad
S: blueberries, veggies
D: I thought we were going to have dinner before a post-work event, but nope, so I had a bowl of cereal and a banana when I got home.

Saturday:
B: waffles from the freezer, eggs and bacon
L: chicken and veggie soup
D: mushroom chicken spaghetti

Yeah, chicken twice in one day and possibly the last chicken from the freezer. H was going to cook one night and thought two pounds of chicken are necessary to feed us (one is fine) but he already had it thawed before I realized and then he didn’t end up cooking so it needed to be used.

Today I went shopping. I picked up all of the milk we should need this week to avoid a mid-sized week trip. But fruit is also super cheap this week ($0.29/lb for bananas, $1.69 for 3 lb apples, $1.99 for 3 lb oranges) so maybe a trip for fruit for next week will be worthwhile. We ended up with more strawberries, boys did a great job eating then last week, so I think it is okay even though they’re on the expensive side.

image

Still over the $20 limit I thought I’d aim for…oh well.

I also spent 3ish hours prepping food today.

image

2 loaves stir and pour wheat bread
24 pumpkin wheat mini muffins
1 swiss chard, mushroom and feta quiche
21 cinnamon raisin oatmeal cups
4 salads (chickpeas, cucumbers, carrots, kohlrabi, green peppers, pea shoots and spinach)

I think we’re ready for the week ahead!

Leave a Reply

