My musings…

Pantry Challenge Day 5

One thing I neglected to mention on my Saturday post is how stinkin’ hard it was for me to avoid purchasing some things at the grocery store…seriously. chicken breasts were in sale for $1.49/lb. I don’t think I saw that price at all last year. But we have chicken breasts in the freezer that need to be used. And they’ll likely be on sale again at the beginning of February. And hams were $5 off, too! But I had just cooked an entire ham for Christmas and the bone and some scraps are in the freezer waiting to be made into soup. But still. So hard to resist and not throw them in the cart.

Also, I haven’t made a weekly or monthly food plan and here’s why: the boys don’t always want dinner, sometimes my sister in law feeds them and sometimes they just aren’t hungry so then whatever was made for dinner that night (since I almost always have it in the crockpot or have at least thawed something) becomes dinner for the next night. I have a list (in my head) of things I can make with what’s in the freezer and pantry so there are a few meals that can be made at any time.  Also, I have a CSA share that I pick up on Thursdays, so what’s coming in that is always a bit of a surprise. I know there will be lots of greens (hello quiches and soups), but beyond that, who knows?

Day 5 plan:
Boys:
First breakfast: mini muffins and milk
B & L: sister in law is making
D: chili and rice
S: mandarins

Me:
B: eggs with sauteed spinach and mushrooms, coffee
L: taco salad
D: chili
S: blackberries, mandarins, carrots and cucumber

Leave a Reply

