My musings…

No Spend January

Coming off of the holidays, I thought it’d be fun to participate in a Pantry Challenge. Other bloggers do this both to reduce spending and to use up ingredients in their freezers and pantry. Since we’re in a small apartment with only the refrigerator freezer, I don’t have that much in the freezer, but the pantry is definitely overstocked. I don’t think that figuring out something to make each day will be a challenge, rather it’s not shopping that will be hard for me. I’ve already cancelled our Amazon Subscribe & Save for the month – I use it mostly for diapers and wipes, but always get a few other things as well…but we’re pretty well-stocked on those.
I will purchase dairy, eggs, and fresh produce (mostly fruit since we have a CSA share), but I set a limit of $20/week. This morning I noticed we are out of honey and almost out of maple syrup which I will replace since I prefer to use those more than white sugar. (I found a jar of honey in my pantry this morning. I knew we couldn’t be out yet!)
I’m going to try to blog about the experience. I’ve downloaded an app to my phone so hopefully that will make it easier.
As far as other household products (toilet paper, laundry detergent, etc.) we’re fairly well stocked, so I don’t see that being an issue throughout the month, either.

Day 1: January 1, 2016
Breakfast: whole wheat banana pancakes, bacon and (the last of the) eggs
Lunch: pork, sauerkraut, potatoes and green beans ( https://billypenn.com/2015/12/31/pork-and-sauerkraut-on-new-years-day-why-the-pa-dutch-believe-its-your-luckiest-meal-of-the-year/)
Dinner: barbecue ribs and coleslaw
Snacks: apples, pears, popcorn

Leave a Reply

