My musings…

CSA shares 1 and 2

Our first CSA share was ready on May 24.  I wasn’t in the area, though, so this Saturday I picked up a double share.

It was our first time out to the farm, so I was surprised by the number of people there!  Many folks were out in the fields picking extra strawberries and doing other work. Both the boys were asleep and I don’t really know what I would do with extra strawberries right now, so I just headed to the barn and picked up the veggies for the two shares.

This is what I ended up with:

CSA1

 

2 pints of strawberries

1 pound of lettuces and arugula

1/2 pound kale

1 pound turnips

1/2 pound garlic scapes

2 basil seedlings

a few pinches of cilantro and chives from the herb gardens by the barn

 

I made strawberry shortcake for dinner on Saturday night, using the recipe here. It turned out okay, but a bit dry.  If we have more strawberries this week, I might try it again.

The lettuces will be going into salads this week and the kale into smoothies that I have been making for breakfast.

I’m not sure what I will do with the turnips, though several suggestions have been made including roasted, pickled, scalloped, and soup (http://www.farmfreshfeasts.com/2012/11/silken-turnip-and-potato-soup-and-how.html).

The garlic scapes are also new to me.  Suggestions include seared over pasta, pesto, frittata, and using them to replace regular garlic.

Stay tuned to find out what the final decisions are!

 

Leave a Reply

