My musings…

Pad thai

So there’s a Thai restaurant near my work that I’ve gone to a few times for different reasons. The first time we went for my 1 year work-iversary celebration, I hadn’t ever eaten Thai food before, so I wanted to order something safe – Pad Thai seemed to be the obvious choice. And it was delicious! So that’s pretty much what I order any time that I go to a Thai restaurant.

The other week I decided that I’d try to make it at home and see if I could convince Elvis to love it. Luckily, he really enjoyed it! I made enough for us for dinner, to take to lunch the next day and there were still two servings left on a plate in the refrigerator which he had demolished before I got home. So I consider this recipe to be a success and we’ll be making it again!

I used this recipe (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/pad-thai-2/detail.aspx) from Allrecipes, but I changed a bunch of things based on other peoples’ reviews and it turned out wonderfully.

12 oz rice noodles
4 T olive oil, divided
2 green onions, finely sliced
4 garlic cloves, crushed
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into bite-sized pieces
4 eggs
4 T rice vinegar
7 T fish sauce
4 T white sugar
1 T crushed red pepper flakes
2 c bean sprouts
2 carrots, thinly bias-sliced
1/4 c crushed peanuts
3 green onions, chopped in 3/4″ pieces
1 lime, cut into wedges

Bring about 5 c of water to a boil, then pour over the noodles to cook them. Once softened, drain and set aside.

Heat 2 T of the olive in a large frying pan (or maybe a wok if you have one). Add in the green onions and garlic, saute for a few minutes until onions are translucent. Add in the chicken pieces and cook until done. Remove the chicken.

Add the remaining 2 T of olive oil into the pan. Once heated, scramble the 4 eggs. Add chicken back in. Cook for about 5 more minutes. Add the prepared noodles into the pan. Add vinegar, fish sauce, sugar, and red pepper flakes. Once noodles are tender, add in carrots and bean sprouts, cooking for 3 more minutes. Serve topped with peanuts, green onions and a lime wedge.

Leave a Reply

