My musings…

 

Well, Harris Teeter is doubling coupons up to $1.98 again, so I went last Thursday to pick up some things. I picked up $90 of groceries for $17.30.  With the two pizzas that I got, I figure that is worth the money I paid since we often get pizza from Dominoes on the weekend which would cost at least $20.  In addition, there are two cannisters of coffee there which, if I paid full price for them at Harris Teeter would have cost almost $22!  (Like I said before, though, I would never pay full price for anything at this store – way too expensive!)

Elvis and I went to the Leesburg Outlets on Sunday as well, since they’re having some good deals for President’s Day.  For $125, we ended up with 4 pairs of shoes, 2 sweatshirts, a fleece and 2 shirts.  I didn’t think that was too bad.  I needed some new running shoes and I’m pretty happy about mine!  I took one pair out for a run today even though it’s COLD out, and they worked quite well!  (I ran 2.4 miles!)

As far as reading goes, I have been reading a bunch of books to get ready for my trip to Uganda in April.  So far I have read Waiting: A Novel of Uganda’s Hidden War by Goretti Kyomuhendo, a female Ugandan writer.  The book talks about a young girl’s experience during the last few months of Idi Amin’s dictatorship.  While she does not directly discuss the dictatorship or the “Liberators”, you feel the sense of fear and terror that the common people in the country felt when all of these things were happening.  I really enjoyed the book and it was a very easy read.

The second book I read was The Zanzibar Chest by Aiden Hartley. Hartley was a news correspondent in Africa during the 80s and 90s.  He discusses his own experiences as well as those of his father and his father’s best friend who lived and worked in Africa most of their lives.  Throughout the book my eyes and heart were opened to all of the terrible things that happened in the continent while the world sat around.  I would like to say that they were aware of everything was happening, but the way that Hartley describes the situation, many times the stories were never published in the newspaper because no one really cared.  Only in the most extreme cases were these stories published to make the world aware, but there were many other things that happened that were never heard.  It makes me sad and I wonder how many of these situations are still happening in the world today about which we do not know anything.

I am currently reading Africa: Dispatches from a Fragile Continent by Blaine Harden.  Harden was also a news correspondent, but he was there in the early 80s.  This book is also very interesting.  Instead of just telling the news story, Harden tells much more personal stories which is very enlightening.

I think these books are definitely worthwhile for me to spend time reading in order to have much more background before heading to Uganda!

Leave a Reply

