My musings…

So during all the hub-bub over this book over the last year or so, I couldn’t bring myself to buy it. Just because it was so hyped. But then Philip bought it for me for Christmas, so I decided to read it!

And I’m glad I did! I particularly enjoyed the first 4/5 of the book…let me explain a little, first.

This woman (Elizabeth Gilbert, the author) has problems with her husband, gets divorced, gets a $200K advance for a book, and heads on a year of self-discovery. She spends 4 months in Italy (Eat), 4 months in India (Pray) and 4 months in Indonesia (Love).

Partially due to my own passion for adventure and travel, I admired her self-determination and ability to seemingly “meld” into each place she visited. In Italy she makes good friends, eats at incredible restaurants and takes some time to travel. In India, she spends her days in meditation (after she breaks through her mental block) and is able to cleanse her spirit and self. Then she goes to Bali, Indonesia to reunite with a medicine man she had met years before.

Now, I guess I should have assumed what was going to happen, both due to the fact that the third part is called “love” and that the follow-up book is called Committed, but I really didn’t like how the last third of this book was mostly devoted to her love affair with an older Brazilian man. That may be what happened, but I was more interested in her stories about the other characters in the book, like the medicine man or the single mother, her daughter and 2 adopted daughters. But c’est la vie, you can’t always get what you want!

On Amazon, the reviews are mostly mixed. I was a little surprised to see the negative reviews which knock the book for being self-centered and egotistical. After all, isn’t this the point of a year of SELF discovery?

I enjoy her detailed writing style that had me not wanting to put down the book until it was finished. All in all, I enjoyed the first 4/5ths of this book, but will I read the follow-up book? Probably not.

Leave a Reply

