My musings…

For Jenna’s wedding, I was in charge of the rehearsal dinner.  Since her in-laws flew in from Kenya, they wouldn’t have the time or the resources to take care of this meal which is traditionally the responsibility of the groom’s family.  I wanted to make something different and I had a coupon for cream cheese, so I decided to make this recipe for Chocolate Vanilla Swirl Cheesecakes.  I, of course, made my own modifications.

First – the calories in these was over 400 calories each and 31 grams of fat which is almost half of the daily recommended intake.  So I bought the reduced calorie, reduced fat versions of all of the ingredients.  I don’t know if it changed the taste of the dessert much, but I thought they tasted delicious and they were gone before the end of the dinner!  In the end they had about 120 calories each and 4 grams of fat – not bad at all.

The other modification I made was making them into cupcake-sized servings which turned out really well.  The swirls weren’t so pronounced, but they still looked pretty.  Because they were smaller, they also took a very short time (like 10 minutes!) to cook.

I also decorated the top with chocolate shavings and strawberries.  I definitely should have taken a picture!

I think that these will go into the recipe box to make them in the future.

Leave a Reply

