My musings…

Reading update time

One thing I remember most about summers as a kid was reading.  A lot.  There were summer book clubs at the library and we would regularly check out 5 or more books a week to read.  Not to mention the finds from local yard sales and other books that we would find.  This summer has been quite busy and I haven’t had TOO much of a chance to read, but I did have two 14+ hour flights which allowed me to read most of 2 books and I finally finished another that I have been reading off and on for awhile.

I had started reading Little Women by Louisa May Alcott  maybe 2 months ago and read bits and pieces as time allowed.  The novel tells the story of four sisters – Meg, Beth, Amy and Jo – as they grow up in Massachusetts.   Many of the elements of the story are based upon Alcott’s life.  I really enjoyed this book and it was an easy read.

On the plane ride to Vietnam, I read The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts.  Actually I read the version in Spanish, but I guess it’s still the same. 🙂 It was an interesting book discussing 5 ways in which people feel that they are loved.  For example, some people feel love through spending quality time with those they love – you could buy that person 1000000 presents and flowers and trinkets,  but without spending time with that person, they will not feel the love in the same way the gift-giver intended.  It definitely gave me some things to think about and was a very fast read.

Since I finished that book on the way, I bought The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in the Hong Kong airport.  I had read some reviews online before and so the name automatically sounded familiar when I saw it in the bookshop.  It was a 500+ page book which I managed to read in 2 days (partially because one of those days had 34 hours in it for me and partially because it is a really good book).  It definitely kept my attention and with so many twists and turns, I didn’t want to put it down.  I am definitely thinking about purchasing the next two books in the series – The Girl who Kicked the Hornets Nest and The Girl who Played with Fire for my next trip (1 month from today!).

I am currently reading Angela’s Ashes which I picked up at the second hand store on Monday.  I’m already 80 pages in and I am definitely enjoying the book.  More updates on this later!

Stay tuned tomorrow and I shall post the recipe for the Mini Oreo Chocolate-Vanilla Swirl Cheesecakes that I made for Jenna’s rehearsal dinner!

Leave a Reply

