My musings…

New Year, New ME! :-)

So I’m going to try to start off this new year right by posting more often which means that my posts will have to be PROactive instead of REactive. To that end, I think I’ll use this blog to track progress on some of my goals for 2010 in addition to update you all on my life.

All of my life I have set goals for myself. I have some long term goals which include things regarding family, travel and financial goals. I created a “bucket list” a long time ago before the movie came out, actually, of things I want to do before I die, but that’s a topic for another post.

For 2010, I have several short-term goals as well. I think that I’ll make progress reports on 2 of them here:

1) Read 8-10 “classic literature” books.
After I finish the book I am currently reading (Ultimatum by Matthew Glass), I plan on digging into some books that I have never read that are considered classic literature including The Grapes of Wrath, Lolita, 1984, Catch 22, and we’ll see what else I get to.

2) Try at least 1 new recipe a week.
I enjoy cooking, I really do.  I often write down recipes that I think would be interesting to try and then don’t actually get around to making them.  That’s about to change. 🙂

The new recipe I tried this week was for my Turbo Cooker (Thanks Gram and Aunt Jean!), but I won’t post it here because making it requires you to have a Turbo Cooker and if you have a Turbo Cooker, the recipe (for chicken, roasted potatoes and veggies) came along in your pack.

I will, however, post a recipe for one of our favorite things that we tried last year:

CHORIZO, SHRIMP AND RICE
Serves 4

INGREDIENTS:
2 T Olive Oil
1 large onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 large tomato, chopped
1 cup quick cook rice (I used plain white rice, but you can use Spanish rice or any other variety)
7 ounces chorizo sausage, casings removed and cut into 1/4″ slices
2 c chicken stock
1 lb large raw shrimp, peeled and deveined
2 T fresh cilantro, chopped for garnish (original recipe called for parsley, but we used cilantro and it was delicious)

DIRECTIONS:
Heat olive oil in a large lidded frying pan over med-high heat.  Add onion and bell peppers, cook for 2 minutes.
Add garlic, continue to cook for 3 more minutes, stirring occasionally.
Add tomato, rice, salt and pepper to taste and cook for 2 minutes.
Add in chorizo and stock.  Bring to a boil.
Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 15 minutes until the rice is tender, but the dish is still moist.
Add shrimp, stir and cover.
Cook for 5 minutes or until shrimp are no longer pink and the liquid has been absorbed.
Sprinkle with cilantro and serve.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:
About 550 calories, but high in sodium and fat.  Leaving out the chorizo drops the calories to 320.  The fat and sodium also drop drastically.  This probably changes the final taste, though adding some other spices could help!

I think that’s enough for today’s post!  Stay tuned for more recipes and book reviews.

Leave a Reply

