My musings…

Pumpkin Pumpkin Pumpkin!

So last week I had bought a can of pumpkin to make a pumpkin roll and had about 2/3 of it leftover.  On top of that, after we carved our pumpkins, I hacked ours apart and cooked it to make additional pumpkin puree.  Needless to say, we had a LOT of pumpkin in the house.  Yesterday I made: an additional pumpkin roll for the girls at work (one of whom has never tried one), pumpkin and chocolate chip muffins, and pumpkin whoopie pies.

For the pumpkin roll, I used this recipe from Taste of Home.  It had really good reviews, so I decided to give it a try.  I had never made one before and I think I was a little intimidated to do so because they look so complicated.  I was pleasantly surprised to find out that it’s actually quite simple – just takes a lot of time to get the egg yolks and egg whites to form peaks!  Delicious, though, and will definitely make again!

For the pumpkin muffins, I used this recipe from “My Kitchen Cafe.”  Only instead of making it into loaves, I made 30 muffins.  I only tried one while they were still warm.  The recipe says that are even better the next day, so I will have to try one a little bit later.  They were delicious yesterday, though, so I’m assuming that they’ll be great later as well!

For the whoopie pies, I used a recipe that I scribbled onto a piece of paper one day a few years ago when I decided I wanted to make them and I was on my way to the store already, so I called Mom and she found one from a cookbook for me.

For the cookies:
2 c pumpkin
2 eggs
2 c brown sugar
1 c veg oil (or applesauce)
1t vanilla

Mix all of these together in a large bowl.
1 t ground cloves
1 t cinnamon
1 t ground ginger
1 t salt
1 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
3 c flour

Mix all of these together in a small bowl.

Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake at 375* for 10-12 mins.  Let cool.

Filling:

1/2 c milk
2 T flour
1/2 c shortening
1 c powdered sugar
1 t vanilla
1 pinch salt

Cook milk and flour on stove until it forms a thick paste.  Let cool completely.
Once milk mixture is cool, cream together with remaining ingredients.

DELICIOUS!  I ended up with 18 complete whoopie pies from this recipe.

I still have not used all of the pumpkin that we have!  I may try to make a pumpkin soup later this week.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

